Dating, Restrictions, Crushes and Confusion

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dating, Restrictions, Crushes and Confusion

I am a sophomore in college. I come from this family that looks down on dating and sees relationships and boyfriends and girlfriends as distractions in schoolwork and learning. I have never been on a date, and I didn't go to my high school prom because my parents didn't allow me to go (it also helped that no one asked me.) In high school, I didn't really care because I was dubbed the socially-awkward kid anyway and had few friends. I figured that dating and having relationships was something "They" did, although I wasn't sure exactly who "They" were, and I wasn't part of that. My parents also made me believe that the "They" group were bad people, unfocused people, distracted people who had their priorities screwed up. I bought it.

Now, I am in college, and I see that everyone around me is smart and capable, graceful and so involved in campus events. I realize that my parents might have been wrong with their broad sweeping characterizations that dating is a distraction and won't get you the places you need to go in life. I realize that my college friends had high school relationships and were able to navigate that just as well along with academics and family life to be where they are now. Needless to say, I feel as though I missed out on some sort of experience.