What to do now

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to do now

Hello. I am a community college student and I rely on financial aid. Recently I got my financial aid taken away since I failed a class that I was taking. Right now I am preparing myself to tell my mother. I don't know what is going to happen from here since financial aid is a big help to me for paying my school tuition.

I admit, it is my fault that I failed my class. The class I was taking was a precalculus Math class. My major is architecture and it involves a lot of Math. I decided to take the class online since regular classes were filled up. I did not put as much effort as I could have into the class. I had trouble with the course also but I believe that I could have put more effort into passing. I guess the reason I did not put my best effort is because I wanted to take it easy since I am a recent sufferer from depression and I was labeled under the mental illness Paranoid Schizophrenia when I went to a mental hospital. Right now in my life I consider myself doing much better mentally, spiritually and physically.

I left the hospital in January of 2013. 4 months later I went back to school, first writing an appeal letting my school know what happened, in order to get my financial aid back. Recently (As I stated above), I have been put in the same position since I failed my Math class. I wrote my school another appeal to get my aid back but my appeal was denied. This time I used the same appeal that I used when I first got out of the hospital back in 2013 but I used a different reason as an explanation in the beginning of the appeal. For the reason, I told my school that I have always done better in a traditional not online class, then I let the rest of the appeal be the same as my old one. Since my first appeal talked about me being in the hospital I figured I would use it again since they might understand but I guess they wanted something completely different.